2017 Sailors of the Year Ceremony

Welcome to Navy Live blog coverage of Sailor of the Year Ceremony.

The 2017 Sailor of the Year winners were meritoriously advanced to chief petty officer during a ceremony held at the United States Navy Memorial, May 17.


The Sailors meritoriously advanced to chief petty officer are:

  • Chief Naval Air Crewman (Operator) John Herrman, U.S. Fleet Forces Sea Sailor of the Year
  • Chief Engineman Brandon Lovell, Navy Reserve Sailor of the Year
  • Chief Culinary Specialist Latoya Farrish, U.S. Pacific Fleet Sea Sailor of the Year
  • Chief Legalman Jean Yusten, U.S. Naval Forces Europe-Africa / U.S. 6th Fleet.

“These four outstanding Sailors are a reflection of what first class petty officers across our Navy are asked to be every day, as technical experts, as leaders and as shipmates of character … We are all extremely proud of their very significant accomplishments.”
– Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy (MCPON) Steven Giordano

The Sailor of the Year Program has recognized Sailors who represent the best of our Navy for almost 50 years. The program was established in 1972 by the Chief of Naval Operations Adm. Elmo Zumwalt and MCPON John Whittet to recognize Sailors who have demonstrated the highest standards of our Navy, and have proven themselves by their performance, knowledge, and leadership on the deck plates.

Join the #USNavy conversation on social media on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram , YouTube , and Flickr .


Share the News

Follow this blog

Get a daily email of all new posts.